Montana State and Montana have played some incredible games against one another over the years and there is no question the two universities have produced some incredible talent over that time.

That point was proven again this year as the two schools combined for 23 players named to the Big Sky All Conference teams this afternoon.

The list was headlined by MSU senior defensive end Brad Daly, who was named the Big Sky Co-Defensive MVP and to the 1st team defense. Daly this season recorded 68 tackles, 20.5 of those for a loss. He also picked up a nation leading 14 sack, an interception, a forced fumble, 2 fumble recoveries and two blocked kicks.

Montana State junior running back Shawn Johnson was named the Return Specialist for the 1st team. Johnson returned two kickoffs for touchdowns this season and in the regular season finale against the Griz returned a punt 82 yards for a touchdown.

Montana had four players named to the first team. Offensive tackle Danny Kistler, defensive end Zach Wagenmann and outside linebackers Jordan Tripp and John Kanongata'a.

"It's cool being able to be recognized for your individual efforts," said Wagenmann. "It's nice because we do work really hard. But at the same time we're focused on more important things, you know taking a step in the right direction and winning our first game in the playoffs."

"If I got it and nobody else did it wouldn't be fun," Kistler said. "I think it's fun when all of us work together, we like to see each other succeed. So I think that's exciting for us but like Wags said our focus is on winning a national championship ultimately and that all starts next week after the bye and I think that's where our major focus is right now." 

2nd team selections:

Cody Kirk: Running back, MSU

Tia Salanoa: Tight end, MSU

Deonte Flowers: Cornerback, MSU

Chad Newell: Running back, MSU

Ellis Henderson: Wide Receiver, Montana

William Poehls: Guard, Montana

Kjelby Oiland: Center, Montana

Alex Bienemann: Defensive tackle, Montana

Brock Coyle: Linebacker, Montana

Anthony Goodwin: Cornerback, Montana

Matt Hermanson: Safety, Montana

3rd team:

Tanner Bleskin: Wide Receiver, MSU

JP Flynn: Guard, MSU

Trevor Poole: Guard, Montana