USDA issues drought disaster for E. Idaho counties


IDAHO FALLS, Idaho - Federal agriculture officials have issued a disaster declaration for Clark County in eastern Idaho due to a lack of rain for the last two months.
The U.S. Department of Agriculture this week also put four other nearby counties up for possible relief - Butte, Fremont, Jefferson and Lemhi.
The declaration makes farmers in the counties eligible for low-interest emergency loans to help cover part of any losses attributed to the dry conditions. Growers can apply for assistance for the next eight months.

More Stories