Two competitors face off in Beaverhead Co. sheriff primary


DILLON, Mont. - Two competitors will face off in the Beaverhead County sheriff primary election -- incumbent Sheriff Jay Hansen and Paul Oldynski.

This is the third time voters will see Hansen's name on the primary election ballet. This year, he has a competitor on the Republican ticket, former Deputy Paul Oldynski.

Hansen said he has been in the department for 30 years, starting as a sheriff's deputy, and working his way up.

"I've committed to Beaverhead County since 1984," said Hansen. "I've been very committed. I want to to something for Beaverhead County, because Beaverhead County is where my family grew up and that's where my family will stay."

Oldynski also has an extensive background in law enforcement, he's filled many roles since starting as a reserve deputy 13 years ago.

"The more diversified you are, the more you can help people that are in those particular specialties, I guess you could say," said Oldynski. "If you've got an understanding, then you can help the guy that's going to be doing it to help him get through it."

Hansen said in his eight years as sheriff, he has brought change and improvements to Beaverhead County, like generating more revenue and establishing the chaplain program.

"I believe that I'm the only one that does have that type of experience," he said. "I want to make sure that the proper leadership provides for the security of our county."

Oldynski said, if elected he wants to focus on drug enforcement, starting with the DARE program, and hopes to work on team building.

"If I could bring that back, that enthusiasm I think will spill over into deputies backing up city guys, city guys getting along with them, all of us getting along together," he said. "Because the happier you are at your job, the better you'll do your job."

Whoever gets the most votes in the primary will run against Independent candidate Franklin Kluesner in the general election this November. No one is running on the Democratic ticket.

The primary election is on June 3.

More Stories