Bobcats Qualify School-Record 11 Skiers For NCAA Championships

BOZEMAN, Mont. - The following is by the Montana State Athletic Department.

The NCAA Men?s and Women?s Skiing Committee announced today the 74 men and 74 women selected to participate in the 2012 National Collegiate Men?s and Women?s Skiing Championships, to be held March 7-10 at Bridger Bowl and Bohart Ranch in Bozeman, Montana. The championships will be hosted by Montana State.

A MSU school-record 11 athletes qualified for collegiate skiing?s big dance. Earning a trip to the championships on the Nordic side are David Norris, Tyler Reinking, Michael Schallinger, Ase Carlson, Casey Kutz and Jessica Yeaton. Alpine qualifiers include Marissa Riopelle, Kelly McBroom, Stephanie Irwin, Michael Radford and Geoff Irwin.

Participants are selected on a regional basis from two designated regions for Alpine skiing (East and West Regions) and three designated regions for Nordic skiing (Central, East and West Regions). Bids are awarded to regions using a formula determined by the skiing committee. A maximum of 12 student-athletes (three per gender per discipline) may participate from an institution.

Nordic events will be held at Bohart Ranch Cross Country Ski Center. The men?s 10-kilometer and women?s five-kilometer freestyle cross-country races will be conducted March 7. The women?s 15-kilometer and men?s 20-kilometer classical races will be held March 9.

Alpine events will run at Bridger Bowl. The men?s and women?s giant slaloms will be held March 8, with the men?s and women?s slaloms conducted March 10.

This year?s skiing championships will be webcast live on Visit the Skiing page of to watch all the action.

More Stories