5 MT sheriffs resisting new gun regs


POSTED: 1:10 PM Jan 25 2013
HELENA, Mont. -

Sheriffs in at least five Montana counties are resisting new federal gun regulations.
Powell County Sheriff Scott F. Howard says he won't enforce any "unconstitutional" federal gun regulations, while Ravalli County Sheriff Chris Hoffman and Lake County Sheriff Jay Doyle say they would not participate if the federal government ordered the confiscation of certain guns.
Sanders County Sheriff Tom Rummell and Wibaux County Sheriff Darby Harrington have signed an email sent to sheriffs statewide urging them to refuse to enforce or to permit the enforcement of any new federal gun regulations.
After a mass shooting at an elementary school in Connecticut that killed 26, President Barack Obama asked Congress to tighten gun control laws, including banning assault rifles, outlawing ammunition magazines that an hold more than 10 rounds and requiring background checks for all gun purchases.