The Buffalo Bills reduced their roster with the release of recently signed quarterback Jordan Palmer and nine other players and then added free agent quarterback Kyle Orton on Friday.

Palmer, who joined the Bills after he was let go by the Chicago Bears, did not last a week in Buffalo. The Bills also waived two-time Pro Bowl punter Brian Moorman.

According to reports, the 31-year-old Orton signed a one-year contract to back up starter EJ Manuel. The Dallas Cowboys released Orton in the offseason after he threatened to retire.

Others released by the Bills were linebacker Xavius Boyd, defensive tackle Landon Cohen, tight end Dominique Jones, cornerbacks Kamaal McIlwain and Sam Miller, fullback Evan Rodriguez, wide receiver Naaman Roosevelt and cetner Jared Wheeler.

The Bills placed three additional players on the reserve/injured list, including tight Tony Moeaki, and also announced that Garrison Sanborn, the team's long snapper since 2009, signed a contract extension. Terms were not disclosed.

Jeff Tuel is the only other quarterback on the roster.

Palmer, 30, spent last season with the Bears but didn't get into a game. He completed 21 of 30 passes for 225 yards, one touchdown and one interception this month in preseason games for Chicago.